I need to change this category to Recent Reads, because when I am into a book like this, I don’t want to stop to write a blog post, even a brief one!

You may know that author extraordinaire, Richard Peck, died recently — on May 23rd. There is a hole in the kidlit universe since his death. I am grateful we have his books with us to continue his legacy into the future. In tribute to him, I recently read THE BEST MAN (in one evening, because once I started it, I couldn’t put it down.)

Quoting from the publisher’s website, “In pages that ripple with laughter, there’s a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be. … … … Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos.”

Yes, this wonderful book is insightful, and filled to the brim with laughter and tears and learning and growing up. I highly recommend it.

To learn more about Richard Peck, you can read this tribute from the School Library Journal, read the New York Times obituary, read the New York Times review of THE BEST MAN, and best of all, see and hear him (all too briefly) in this little video about reading and writing.

THE BEST MAN. I highly recommend it. (That link is to the book trailer, uploaded by the Texas Bluebonnet Award.)

%d bloggers like this: